well damn!


Constantines w/ Tropics @ CTO
December 2, 2008, 5:17 pm
Filed under: Live Show | Tags: , , ,

Friday night my good friend Devyn and I ventured over to Call The Office, here in London to see the Constantines.

Now it’s no secret that the Constantines have quickly become one of my favourite bands. These guys know how to put on a rock show, and when they play London 4 times a year, it’s hard to miss them!

Devyn and I managed to covet our spot in the front row, staking the spot out while catching openers Tropics. At first, I was a bit unsure about Tropics, but their carefully crafted drum driven riffs won me over by the end of the set. While there are just the two of them, I think they managed to successfully take control of the space to induce their rhythmic prog rock. It’s no surprise the Constantines speak so highly of them and threaten to illegally release bootlegs of their shows. Definitely a band to watch out for.

After quite a bit of waiting (not due to the Cons being “Primadonnas” as Bry came out to apologize for, but them not wanting to start earlier than advertised) the Constantines opened with Kensington Heights‘ hardest rock anthem Credit River. At first I was unsure about how this song would measure up as an opener, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The last few times I’ve seen the Cons (ie, the 3 previous times I’ve seen them since April) they’ve been giving Shine a Light the snub, but not Friday night! They played Tank Commander, Young Lions, Insectivora and Nighttime/Anytime, which all left my thoroughly satisfied.

At one point near the end of the set, Bry hung his guitar from the rafters for at least a minute, and the band were very chatty in general, giving introductions to songs and bantering while Dallas tried to revive his bass (which seemed to have died near the end).

Encore was Do What You Can Do and possibly another song, but I can’t remember! They ended with a cover of Fuckin’ Up which Bry introduced as a song by Horsey Craze.

All in all a great night, aside from the guy on acid and his “friend” that I spent the latter half of the show next to.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

