well damn!


Jack’s Mannequin – The Glass Passenger
December 5, 2008, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Albums | Tags: , , ,

Three years ago, Andrew McMahon, under the moniker Jack’s Mannequin released his solo debut, Everything in Transit, as an enthusiastic fan of Something Corporate I was more than excited. Unfortunately, at the time McMahon was diagnosed with Leukemia and was left to fight for his life instead of promoting his masterpiece.

The Glass PassengerI have spent the past 3 years anticipating this album. It doesn’t take a genius to guess that his next release would be heavily influenced by his bout with leukemia. This is a fan’s dream album.

I must admit, I was not a fan of this album the first…3 or 4 times I listened to it. McMahon is such a great composer and I was left thinking, “What the hell is this?”. While I was expecting anger a la If U C Jordan, McMahon gave me an album about fighting for your life a la Bruised. But I still can’t help but be slightly disappointed with the writing on this album. Sure there are some great tracks on this album, but together, they lack the cohesion this album needs.

However Crashin’ is a great opener, it kicks the record off with the lines “I wanna hear some music/Now that they’re driving us all underground”. Swim is the fight for you life song, where McMahon gives the listener a taste of what he went through. Unfortunately I find that American Love is a bit of a stick out track…not in a good way. It’s one of the many reasons the album isn’t “cohesive”. Sure it’s a great song…but it doesn’t really fit into that spot on the album, and I’m not really sure if it even fits into the album at all.

Towards the end of the album, it’s easy to see why The Resolution was released as the album’s single, although sometimes I think the transition going from the previous song into this one is a bit off. The “last” track Caves would be a powerful ending note, leaving the listener with lines like “As far as I can see/Walls are caving in/Doors got locked for sure/But I see these doors have keys”. Except a bonus track Miss California is included at the end, which like American Love doesn’t quite fit the album, but I guess can be overlooked since it’s a bonus track…right?

I’m hard on the album, because I love Andrew McMahon, I swear.

First listen: 6/10
Flow: 6/10
Individual Songs: 8/10
Discography: 6/10
Length: 4/5
Album Art: 4/5
Total: 34/50

C+/B- I can’t decide whether to make this a C+ or B-, so I give it both!
Overall, not a bad album, but not amazing either.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

