well damn!


Top 5 Discoveries of 2008

I feel like 2008 was a great year for me musically. Prior to this year I was always stuck in some sort of musical rut, listening to the same things over and over again but I think it’s safe to say that my collection has grown immensely, and so has my appreciation for music. And that my friends is why I’m presenting you with my top 5 musical discoveries of 2008.

5. CBCRadio3.com
I had the itch to listen to more Canadian grown indie, and Radio3 just fueled the fire. Independent Canadian musicians submit their music to the New Music Canada website and the folks at radio 3 play their favourites of the thousands of musicians. R3 features an eclectic basket of music, from punk to rap, pop to country. I’m a religious listener of the podcasts and I’ve bought many albums based on the sole listen to one song on Radio3. Thanks!
CBC Radio 3 Green
4. Two Hours Traffic
The first time I heard “No Advances” I knew that Two Hours Traffic were something special. I impulsively bought Little Jabs, and it quickly became the soundtrack to my summer. It wasn’t before long when my 10 and 12 year old sisters heard the album and became attached. These guys know how to write catchy hooks, sappy love songs and win a girl’s heart.
Two Hours Traffic
3. The Dress Whites
I love pop music, and these boys wear it well. I immediately fell in love the first time I heard “The Whale”. I became hooked and began repeatedly listening to their tracks on NMC, I gave in and ordered My God, The Shame!, and after 4 months, I finally had my copy. Don’t fret, it was well worth the wait. It’s a hook-filled power-pop album that could have easily been transported from the 1960’s.
The Dress Whites
2. Joel Plaskett Emergency
I picked up Ashtray Rock in the last week of last year and immediately fell in love. It fulfills my love for concept albums, and it’s so clever. Plaskett is an excellent songwriter and has quickly become one of my favourites. Ashtray Rock explored a plethora of musical styles and I can’t wait for JPE’s release Three in 2009. (More on this release later this weekend)
Joel Plaskett Emergency
1. Hey Rosetta!
Into Your Lungs is a record I cannot put down. It touches the concept album fanatic in me, and the high school band geek who loves intricately composed opuses. I see this album as a grand operetta with various movements. It’s huge but so tight! The vocals are dead on, each song is delivered with precision and the album tells a wonderfully vague story. You don’t know what you’ve been missing until you’ve heard this album.
Hey Rosetta

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Danks at Zaphods Played at packed show with Two Hours Traffic at Ottawa’s Zaphod Beeblebrox Show review is […]

Pingback by The Danks at Zaphods « MW Photos. Weblog




Leave a comment