well damn!


Favourite Albums of 2008

I thought I’d write a little entry about 3 of my favourite albums of 2008. For me, there was one clear release that was hands down my absolute favourite of the year, and then there were quite a few other albums that I enjoyed a lot.

Parc AvenuePlants & Animals – Parc Avenue
I was unsure of this album at first, Bye Bye Bye is such a stand out track, and the rest of the album differs so much, it’s a lot more elegant and less anthem-esque. But then I saw P&A at LOLA, and the album immediately clicked with me. There’s so much instrumentation on this album, and some great arrangements. It’s quite incredible that three guys can capture what they recorded with a pocket-ful of musicians, on stage. Every song is a little orchestral movement. It’s a bit post-rock, and a bit neo-classical and I love it.
Favourite track: Mercy

Red, Yellow & BlueBorn Ruffians – Red, Yellow & Blue
This is one catchy album. Born Ruffians create the most complicated sort of simple music. Guitar, bass and a drum, what more do you need? Red, Yellow & Blue was easily the soundtrack to my summer, it’s upbeat, fun, a bit silly and tight. The drumming on this album is unbelievable! My heart is won over by their intricate rhythms, jerky melodies and sporadic harmony. I read somewhere that Luke (the lead singer) tries to model his voice after his opera singing sister, I think it’s quite effective!
Favourite track: Kurt Vonnegut

Into Your LungsHey Rosetta! – Into Your Lungs
(and around in your heart and on through your blood) I’m sure I’ve mentioned this album numerous times through out the blog and that’s because it is hands down my favourite release of 2008. Like Parc Avenue, the instrumentation on this album is fabulous and each song is like a little movement, and like Red, Yellow & Blue the melodies are terribly memorable. The best part about this album is it tells a story. Tim Baker has an interesting method of unraveling it, and I’ve spent undefined amounts of time trying to (unsuccessfully) reconstruct it.
I can’t pick one favourite track, but if you were going to listen to just one, I’d say listen to A Thousand Suns

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

