well damn!


Rolling Tundra Review

Back in December when I first heard about the 2009 Rolling Tundra Revue I could hardly contain my anticipation for April 2009, and after months of hyping up the show, it did not fail to live up to my high expectations.

rt-wkToronto country act $100 started the night off with foot stomping, heart wrenching, bluntly written music. They were a bit on the quieter and country side to be opening up for two rock and roll bands but they did a great job. Simone Fornow did a respectable job entertaining the anxious crowd by introducing each of the band’s songs. Although Fornow was only accompanied by two guitar players, they band played a tight set and I’m looking forward to hearing from them again.

Next up were my favourite live act, the Constantines, this is only my 6th time seeing them, but this was definitely one of the most energetic sets I had seen from them. There was a short period of time where I was afraid I was the only fanatic in the crowd but wasrt-wk quickly proved wrong by the time the boys broke out “Nighttime/Anytime”. To tease the crowd, John K Samson came out to sing vocals on “Little Instruments”, which was great. All in all I think the boys managed to garner a few new fans.

Finally at 10:30 (which normally at Call the Office is when the 2nd band is getting ready to play) The Weakerthans opened their set with “Psalm for the Elks Lodge Last Call”. They played many fan favourites including “Left and Leaving”, “A Plea from Virtute The Cat”, and “Civil Twilight”. During “Wellington’s Wednesdays” Samson helped an audience member play guitar, but I was sort of upset they only played one song off of Fallow. Lucky for me, they played two more during their encore.

rt-wkThe Waking Eyes‘ Rusty Matyas was wonderful as the Weakerthans’ fifth man. He did a great job supporting them not only on the keys, but on trumpet and taking over a female vocal part here and there.

Overall, a show well worth the $25 ticket, $5 beer and $12 cab ride home.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

