well damn!


Tracking: Metric – Gimme Sympathy
April 21, 2009, 8:05 pm
Filed under: Singles | Tags: , ,

I’m not the biggest Metric fan, but I was instantly drawn in when I heard the single, “Help I’m Alive” released late last year as a pre-cursor to their latest release Fantasies.

MetricWhile “Help I’m Alive” is a suspenseful train ride showcasing Metric’s musical range, “Gimme Sympathy” (the first single released off of Fantasies) is just plain boring. It’s too…nice. Not that there is anything wrong with nice, but I don’t really associate nice with or expect nice from Metric.

The melody is too repetitive and restricted. Specifically within the chorus, which is the same short phrase of music repeated 3 times. This may have worked in a verse or if the phrase was longer, but the chorus itself is repeated enough times to just annoy me.

Even though it is almost as repetitive as the melody, the accompanying music is far more interesting. The music contains various rhythmic combinations and riffs. There is a nice contrast between the verse and chorus, but it’s not enough to give this track the support it needs.

Either way I do not enjoy this track on its own, even though it consistently gets stuck in my head.

Go to Metric’s MySpace for a listen (because after my strong endorsement I know you want to listen to it anyway)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

